Campus Directory: Arlan Schultz

University of Lethbridge

Arlan Schultz
Chair (On Leave)
Fine Arts - Music Department
Office: W776 (University Centre for the Arts)
Phone: (403) 329-2695
Fax: (403) 317-2841


Composition, Music theory, Temporal perception and cognition, Philosophy and music, Computer assisted composition, Algorithmic composition, Symbolic computational models, Real-time audio spatialization, Spatialization as an aesthetic/compositional determinant, Audio synthesis, Electronics for music applications, Hardware and software design, and interactive computer music

Office Hours

By Appointment 9:00 AM to 4:00 PM

About Me

Dr. Arlan N. Schultz is a composer and researcher in the areas of music technology and music theory.


Arlan N. Schultz, B.Mus. Composition (Manitoba), M.Mus. Composition (McGill), Ph.D. Composition (UCSD)

Arlan N. Schultz is associate professor of music, composition and theory at the University of Lethbridge and he is chair of the dept. of music and head of the composition area. His composition teachers include Brian Ferneyhough, Roger Reynolds, Chinary Ung, Harvey Sollberger, Brian Cherney, and Michael Matthews. Academic awards include numerous teaching assistantships and fellowships including the Richardson Foundation Scholarship for Music (Manitoba) and the Kurt Weill Fellowship for music (UCSD). Composition awards include the BMI (1990) and Godfrey Ridout Awards (SOCAN, 1991) for Quartet Opus 10 and Edifice respectively; a commission (1994) from the National Arts Center Orchestra in Ottawa, Canada, as part of the NAC's young composers competition; the Canada Arts Council's Robert Fleming Prize for composition (1995), and Second Prize in the International Mozart Competition (1997), Salzburg for PLI, which has since been published by Universal Edition, Vienna. He has also obtained numerous grants from the Canada Arts Council, the Quebec Council for Arts and Letters, and the University of Lethbridge's Office of Research Services.

Dr. Schultz's music has been broadcast on Radio Canada, and in France on CBC's sister network, and has been heard in performances in Canada, the United States, France, Germany, Austria, Poland and Hungary. He has been commissioned by the National Arts Centre Orchestra, the McGill Concert Choir, the Stuttgart Wind Quintet with Canadian pianist Louise Besette, Hungarian violinist János Négyesy, Canadian pianist Sandra Brown, Ensemble Resonance, Calgary, and New Works Calgary among others.

In addition to his creative work, Dr. Schultz is active in several areas of research related to the field of composition. Current writings include forthcoming articles on time, music, and the philosophical works of Henri Bergson and Ludwig Wittgenstein and on the music of Canadian composer Michel-Georges Brégent. He is engaged in implementing software algorithms for real-time audio spatialization in live performance, designing symbolic computational algorithms for computer-assisted composition, and audio synthesis.

A recent CREDO grant (Community of Research Excellence Development Opportunity - 2008 - 2010) from the University of Lethbridge Research Office funded Dr. Schultz's research. During that time Dr. Schultz developed tools for electroacoustic composition in the form of audio spatialization software and unique audio-sample databases. He carried out his research in France at the Institut de Recherche et Coordination Acoustique/Musique (IRCAM), at the Drepung Gomang Monastery in South-West India, and at the Center for Research in Computing and the Arts (CRCA) in La Jolla, California.

The Canada Arts Council for the Arts as well as the Alberta Foundation for the Arts also generously provide support for Dr. Schultz's work in the areas of composition and interactive computer music.

Selected Publications

Schultz A.N. PLI, for solo piano. (Universal Edition, Vienna, UE 31245; 1998).

Selected Creative Works

Ikos: kun tu 'bar ba (2010) for soprano, chamber ensemble, real-time audio spatialization and computer processed audio. Premiered April 20, 2010, Calgary, Alberta.

KONTAKION (2008) for violin, clarinet, piano, 5-channel computer processes audio and real-time spatialization. Written for Peter Visentin, Margaret Mezei, and Deanna Oye (University of Lethbridge faculty trio). Funded by a generous grant from the University of Lethbridge Research Fund. Premiered March 11, 2008 U of L Recital Hall.

Pensées Interdites (2007) for violin, bass clarinet, and piano. Commissioned by Ensemble Resonance, Calgary Alberta, premiered January 27, 2007, New Works Calgary.

In The Media

Research Interests

Composition, music theory,music perception and cognition, philosophy and music, computer assisted composition, algorithmic composition, symbolic computational models, real-time audio spatialization, spatialization as an aesthetic/compositional determinant, audio synthesis, and interactive computer music.

Internet Links

Edit this Content